Pecan Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Fig Tamarind Balsamic Glaze


To go along with the sunchoke and gruyere gratin, this was the main project last weekend. And If I would change anything about presentation it would be to save the sauce drizzle for the plate. I’m picky that way. It was served family style so I opted to pour the sauce over the whole dish. But the flavor was there, and that sauce was bananas.

Wondering what I could do with pork tenderloin,  I started looking in my cabinets to see what I could use.  I just pulled out some random things, but kept in mind flavor profiles and methods of prep. So some of what I took out was apple sider, pecans, balsamic vinegar, tamarind….I got to thinking of a crusted pork tenderloin with a sauce or glaze.

featured pic

Pecan crusted pork tenderloin with tamarind, fig, and balsamic glaze in a bed of wilted spinach

So I took the pork tenderloin and put it in a zip lock bag with apple cider vinegar for a few hours to tenderize and sort of brine. Below is some of the prep and mis en place for the pork tenderloin and the sunchoke gratin dish from my previous post.

As always when I have a whole meal planned, I try to have it all timed out at the same time. The prep is what always takes the longest. But once everything is chopped up and ready to go, the cooking part flies.

mis en place

Mis en place

Pecan Crusted Pork Tenderloin recipe:

  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1 pork tenderloin
  • 1 Tbsp spicy brown mustard or whole grain mustard
  • 1/4 cup brown brown sugar
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 2/3 cup pecans finely chopped
  • kosher salt and pepper

Fig Tamarind and Balsamic glaze

  • 1 Tbsp tamarind concentrate
  • 1/4 cup fig jam
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

For the pecan crust, I took the pecans and ground them in a food processor. Thinking back now, I would have ground them finer than I did. They stick better and hold more when the roast is done. Also, for ease of slicing and keeping in tact.

Before I rolled the pork tenderloin in the pecan crumbs, I made a rub mixture with brown sugar, salt, pepper, and spicy Dijon mustard. This was made a paste and I rubbed that all over the tenderloin, and then rolled it in the crumbs. That went into the oven at 375 for about 30-35 minutes.

While that was going, I sautéed spinach with shallots, olive oil, minced garlic that I made into a paste on the cutting board, and some white wine. A little salt and pepper and done.

sauce in pan

Fig, tamarind, and balsamic reduction

This pan may look like grossness but you don’t understand. That sauce was delicious! I would use that with many other things now that I know it went so well with the pork. Like crostini with goat cheese and prosciutto and arugula. I may have to do that for thanksgiving. Or even just as a meal on its own.

So to make the sauce, I just put the balsamic vinegar, tamarind concentrate, and fig jam in a small sauce pan and cooked until the sauce was a thick consistency. Enough to coat the back of a spoon and hold up on a plate.

And if you don’t know what tamarind concentrate looks like, here it is:

tamarind concentrate

I would make this again and maybe use the sauce as a marinade or just glazed over the whole tenderloin. Oh!! And for a wine pairing I opted for an Austrian Riesling. That held up against the weight of the dish and perked everything right up. I don’t have a picture of the bottle though I wish I did. All in all an enjoyable meal.

4 responses to “Pecan Crusted Pork Tenderloin with Fig Tamarind Balsamic Glaze

  1. Pingback: Pork Wellington | scott mercer·

  2. Pingback: Fig and Goat Cheese Pork Loin | saraheatsaustin·

  3. Pingback: Cream Cheese and Jalapeno Stuffed Pork Tenderloin | The Journey of Two·

  4. Pingback: My 3 Words # 13 | emilykarn·

Leave a Reply

